If you use the Get Info window to change Sharing & Permissions settings on a file or folder, Finder preserves and can revert to the previous settings until the window is closed.
You started up a Mac from its OS X Recovery partition to complete a task. When you restarted, the Mac started up from the OS X Recovery partition again. How can you configure it to start up from a different volume?